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Disqualification 

Overpayment, Penalties 

 

PROCEDURAL HISTORY:  On January 21, 2014, the Oregon Employment Department (the 

Department) served notice of three administrative decisions concluding that claimant was not available 

for work from August 11, 2013 through January 4, 2014 (decision #160358) and voluntarily left work 

without good cause (decision #154106), and assessing a $3,743 overpayment, a $1,122.90 monetary 

penalty, and 33 penalty weeks (#195092).  On January 26, 2014, claimant filed timely requests for 

hearing on decisions #160358, #154106 and #195092.  On April 15, 2014, ALJ Vincent conducted a 

consolidated hearing, and on April 23, 2014 issued Hearing Decisions 14-UI-15800, 14-UI-15804 and 

14-UI-15803, affirming decisions #160358, #154106 and #195092.  On May 5, 2014, claimant filed 

applications for review of Hearing Decisions 14-UI-15800, 14-UI-15804 and 14-UI-15803 with the 

Employment Appeals Board (EAB). 

 

Pursuant to OAR 471-041-0095 (October 29, 2006), EAB consolidated its review of Hearing Decisions 

14-UI-15800, 14-UI-15804 and 14-UI-15803.  For case-tracking purposes, this decision is being 

issued in triplicate (EAB Decisions 14-AB-0782, 14-AB-0780 and 14-AB0781).   

 

The ALJ marked, but failed to admit, Exhibit 1 during the hearing.  When the ALJ asked the parties at 

hearing if there were objections to Exhibit 1, no party objected to Exhibit 1 being admitted into the 

record.  Audio Record ~ 24:50 to 24:58.  Under OAR 471-041-0090(1), Exhibit 1 is received into 

evidence to complete the record.   

 

FINDINGS OF FACT:  (1) On May 30, 2013, claimant filed an initial claim for unemployment 

insurance benefits.  Her weekly benefit amount was $197.  The maximum weekly benefit amount in 

effect was $524.   

 

(2) Claimant claimed unemployment insurance benefits for the weeks from August 11, 2013 through 

January 4, 2014 (weeks 33-14 through 1-14).  The Department paid claimant benefits for those weeks.   
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(3) Claimant sought food service and bartending work.  Claimant’s labor market area was Medford, 

Oregon and the surrounding area.  In claimant’s labor market, food service and bartending work was 

performed during all hours and days of the week.   

 

(4) During weeks 33-14 through 1-14, claimant was not willing to work full time. 

 

(5) Wingmen (employer) employed claimant from November 22, 2013 to December 10, 2013 as a 

bartender.   

 

(6) Claimant and the employer agreed at hire that claimant would work six-hour shifts, three days per 

week, because she was breastfeeding her infant.  From November 22, 2013 to November 30, 2013, 

claimant worked part time while the employer trained her for the bartending position.  Claimant began 

bartending on December 1, 2013, and the employer scheduled claimant to work from 3:00 p.m. to 1:30 

a.m., six days per week.  During December 1 through 7, 2013, claimant worked the schedule the 

employer gave her, but told her managers that she was not willing to work more than three six-hour 

shifts per week.  The employer gave claimant the same full time schedule for December 8 through 14, 

2013. 

 

(7) Before December 10, 2013, claimant accepted an offer of work from a different employer to begin 

on December 27, 2013, working two night shifts per week.     

   

(8) On December 10, 2013, claimant quit work because she was dissatisfied with her work schedule, and 

because her new job started on December 27, 2013.     

 

(9) Claimant had earnings from the employer.  Claimant earned $75.93 during week 47-13, $265.76 

during week 48-13, $265.76 during week 49-13, and $113.91 during week 50-13.  Claimant reported no 

hours worked and no earnings to the Department for weeks 47-13 through 50-13 when she claimed 

benefits for those weeks. 

 

(10) Claimant did not report to the Department that she quit a job during the week ending December 14, 

2013 (week 50-13) when she claimed benefits for that week. 

 

(11) Relying on claimant’s reports that she was available to work during weeks 33-14 through 1-14, that 

she had no hours or earnings during weeks 47-13 through 50-13, and that she did not quit a job during 

week 50-13, the Department determined claimant eligible for benefits and paid claimant $3,743 in 

regular unemployment insurance benefits.  Exhibit 1.  Claimant was entitled to no benefits for those 

weeks.   

 

CONCLUSIONS AND REASONS:  We agree with the ALJ that claimant was not available for work 

during weeks 33-13 through 1-14, and that claimant voluntarily left work without good cause.  We also 

agree with the ALJ that claimant is liable to repay $3,743, is liable for a $1,122.90 monetary penalty, 

and is disqualified from 33 weeks of future benefits.   

 

Availability.  An individual must meet certain minimum requirements to be considered “available for 

work” for purposes of ORS 657.155(1)(c).  OAR 471-030-0036(3) (February 23, 2014).  Among those 
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requirements are that the individual be willing to work and capable of reporting to full time, part time 

and temporary work opportunities throughout the labor market, and refrain from imposing conditions 

that limit the individual’s opportunities to return to work at the earliest possible time.  Id.  

Notwithstanding the provisions of 471-030-0036(3), an individual who is the parent of a child under 13 

years of age, who is not willing to or capable of working a particular shift because of a lack of care for 

that child acceptable to the individual, shall be considered available for work if the work the individual 

is seeking is customarily performed during other shifts in the individual's normal labor market area and 

the individual is willing to and capable of working during such shift(s).  OAR 471-030-0036(4).   

 

Claimant was not willing to work full time because she was breastfeeding an infant.  Claimant’s need to 

care for her infant does not excuse her from the requirement that she be willing to work full time.  Under 

OAR 471-030-0036(4), that exception only applies to individuals who are unavailable to work “a 

particular shift.”  Claimant was not available to work full time, and thus limited her availability to work 

based on the number of hours she was available to work, and not based on unavailability for a particular 

shift.  Claimant therefore was not available for work during weeks 33-13 through 1-14, and thus was not 

eligible for unemployment insurance benefits for those weeks. 

 

Voluntary Quit.  A claimant who leaves work voluntarily is disqualified from the receipt of benefits 

unless she proves, by a preponderance of the evidence, that she had good cause for leaving work when 

she did.  ORS 657.176(2)(c); Young v. Employment Department, 170 Or App 752, 13 P3d 1027 (2000).  

“Good cause” is defined, in relevant part, as a reason of such gravity that a reasonable and prudent 

person of normal sensitivity, exercising ordinary common sense, would have no reasonable alternative 

but to leave work.  OAR 471-030-0038(4) (August 3, 2011).  The standard is objective.  McDowell v. 

Employment Department, 348 Or 605, 612, 236 P2d 722 (2010).  A claimant who quits work must show 

that no reasonable and prudent person would have continued to work for her employer for an additional 

period of time.  Where an individual quits work to accept an offer of other work, good cause may exist 

only if the offered work is to begin in the shortest length of time as can be deemed reasonable under the 

individual circumstances.  OAR 471-030-0038(5)(a). 

 

Claimant quit work, in part, because her employer did not accommodate her request to work a part time 

schedule when she began her bartending duties.  Claimant told her employer at hire she was not willing 

to work full time, and reminded her managers again when they scheduled her to work full time during 

her first week performing bartending duties.  Claimant quit work when she saw that the employer 

scheduled her for full time work again during her second week performing bartending duties.  However, 

the record does not show the employer refused to allow claimant to work part time.  The employer had 

agreed at hire to give claimant part time work, and claimant testified that the employer may have 

mistakenly scheduled claimant for full time work because the employer was disorganized.  Transcript at 

7.  Even if the employer required claimant to work full time, claimant did not show that she was unable 

to work full time, only that she preferred to work part time.  The record does not show that claimant’s 

infant was sick or suffering any significant harm due to claimant’s full time schedule.  Claimant failed to 

show she faced a situation so grave that she had no reasonable alternative but to quit work on December 

10, 2013.  Claimant had the reasonable alternative of continuing to work for the employer at least until 

her new job began with a schedule more suited to her family’s needs. 

 

Claimant also quit work, in part, because she was offered other work to begin on December 27, 2013.  

Claimant failed to show she could not have continued working for the employer for an additional period 
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of time after December 10, 2013 before beginning her new job seventeen days later.  Claimant therefore 

failed to establish that the work was to begin in the shortest length of time as can be deemed reasonable 

under the individual circumstances.   

 

Claimant quit work without good cause, and is disqualified from the receipt of unemployment insurance 

benefits for a period beginning December 8, 2013.   

 

Overpayment and Penalties.  ORS 657.310(1) provides that an individual who received benefits to 

which she was not entitled is liable to either repay the benefits or have the amount of the benefits 

deducted from future benefits otherwise payable to him under ORS chapter 657.  That provision applies 

if the individual received the benefits because she made or caused to be made a false statement or 

misrepresentation of a material fact, or failed to disclose a material fact, regardless of his knowledge or 

intent.  ORS 657.310(1).  An individual who willfully makes a false statement or misrepresentation, or 

willfully fails to report a material fact to obtain benefits, may be disqualified for benefits for a period not 

to exceed 52 weeks.  ORS 657.215.  The length of the penalty disqualification period is determined by 

applying the provisions of OAR 471-030-0052 (February 23, 2014).  In addition, an individual who has 

been disqualified for benefits under ORS 657.215 for making a willful misrepresentation and who has 

seven or more “occurrences” within five years is liable for a penalty in an amount equal 30 percent of 

the total amount of benefits the individual received but to which the individual was not entitled to 

receive.  ORS 657.310(2); OAR 471-030-0052(7).  An occurrence shall be counted each time an 

individual willfully makes a false statement or representation, or willfully fails to report a material fact 

to obtain benefits.  OAR 471-030-0052(7).   

 

Claimant was not willing to work full time during weeks 33-14 through 1-14, all the weeks at issue, due 

to caring for her infant.  Transcript at 23.  However, when claimant claimed benefits for each week, 

claimant answered “yes” when asked each week, “Each day last week were you willing to work and 

capable of accepting and reporting for full-time, part-time and temporary work?”  Exhibit 1.  Claimant 

testified at hearing that she did not know how to answer the Department’s question.  Transcript at 23.  

However, the question is clear, and thus claimant’s reason for falsely answering that she was available to 

work full time when she was not, is not plausible.  Absent a credible explanation for why claimant stated 

she was available for full time work when she was not, and based on claimant’s admissions at hearing 

that she was not willing to work full time, the preponderance of the evidence shows claimant willfully 

misrepresented her availability to work to qualify for benefits.   

 

Claimant testified at hearing that she knew she “messed up” when she told the Department she did not 

quit a job during week 50-13.  Transcript at 23.  Claimant offered no other explanation for why she did 

not report quitting her job with the employer during that week.  Absent a credible explanation for why 

claimant stated she did not quit a job during week 50-13, and based on claimant’s testimony at hearing 

that she quit her job with the employer, we conclude claimant willfully failed to report her work 

separation from the employer to obtain benefits.   

 

Similarly, the preponderance of the evidence shows claimant willfully failed to report her earnings for 

weeks 47-13 through 50-13 to obtain benefits.  Claimant testified that she believed she was supposed to 

report her earnings when she received the earnings, not when she earned them.  Transcript at 24.  

Claimant’s testimony is not credible because she did not report the earnings when she received them, 

either.  Exhibit 1.  Nor did claimant report having worked any hours during weeks 47-13 through 50-13, 
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although she worked during all four weeks, and worked full time during at least week 49-13.  Absent 

another plausible reason for having failed to report any hours or earnings for weeks 47-13 through 50-

13, we conclude claimant willfully failed to report her earnings from the employer to qualify for 

benefits. 

 

Based on claimant’s willful misrepresentations to the Department to obtain benefits, claimant is subject 

to penalty weeks and a monetary penalty.  When the disqualification from unemployment insurance 

benefits is imposed because the disqualifying acts under 657.215 relate to the provisions of ORS 

657.176 (work separation) and a failure to accurately report work and earnings, the number of weeks of 

disqualification shall be the number of weeks calculated in the manner set forth in OAR 471-030-

0052(1)(a), plus four weeks.  OAR 471-030-0052(1)(d).  OAR 471-030-0052(1)(a) provides that the 

number of penalty weeks is calculated by dividing the total overpayment ($3,743) by the maximum 

Oregon weekly benefit amount in effect during the first effective week of the initial claim at the time of 

the disqualifying act ($524), rounding off to the nearest two decimal places (7.14), multiplying the result 

by four (28.56), and rounding it up to the nearest whole number (29), or four weeks, or the number of 

weeks in which the misrepresentations occurred, whichever is greater.  Pursuant to OAR 471-030-

0052(1)(d), four weeks are added to that number.  Claimant therefore is disqualified from benefits for 33 

weeks.  Claimant is also liable for a penalty equal to 30 percent of the overpaid benefits because, each 

time she reported she was available for full time work during the 21 weeks from 33-13 to 1-14, claimant 

made a willful misrepresentation to the Department that counted as an “occurrence” for purposes of 

determining the penalty percentage for which she is liable.  Where, as here, claimant had seven or more 

occurrences within five years, she is liable for a penalty of thirty percent of the total overpayment 

amount.  See ORS 657.310(2); OAR 471-030-0052(7).  Thirty percent of $3,743 is $1,122.90, making 

claimant’s total repayment liability $4,865.90.   

 

DECISION:  Hearing Decisions 14-UI-15800, 14-UI-15804 and 14-UI-15803 are affirmed. 

 

Tony Corcoran and J. S. Cromwell; 

Susan Rossiter, not participating. 

 

DATE of Service:  June 10, 2014 

 

NOTE:  You may appeal these decisions by filing Petitions for Judicial Review with the Oregon Court 

of Appeals within 30 days of the date of service listed above.  See ORS 657.282.  For forms and 

information, you may write to the Oregon Court of Appeals, Records Section, 1163 State Street, Salem, 

Oregon 97310, or visit the website at http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OSCA/acs/records/Appellate 

CourtForms.page.   

 

Note:  The above link may be broken due to unannounced changes to the Court of Appeals website, in 

which case you may contact the Appellate Records at (503) 986-5555.  


