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 EMPLOYMENT APPEALS BOARD DECISION 
2014-EAB-0667 

 

Affirmed 

Late Request for Hearing Dismissed 

 

PROCEDURAL HISTORY:  On November 8, 2013, the Oregon Employment Department (the 

Department) served notice of an administrative decision assessing a $14,695 overpayment, $2,204.25 in 

monetary penalties and 52 penalty weeks based on unreported work and earnings (decision # 195818).  

On November 29, 2013, decision # 195818 became final without a request for hearing having been filed.  

On February 14, 2014, claimant filed an untimely request for hearing.  On March 4, 2014, ALJ Kangas 

issued Hearing Decision 14-UI-11559, dismissing claimant’s request for hearing as untimely, subject to 

claimant’s “right to renew” the request by submitting a response to the “Appellant Questionnaire” 

attached to the hearing decision within 14 days of the date the decision was mailed.1  On March 15, 

2014, the Office of Administrative hearings (OAH) received claimant’s response.  On April 7, 2014, 

ALJ Kangas reviewed claimant’s response and issued Hearing Decision 14-UI-14489, re-dismissing 

claimant’s request for hearing.  On April 22, 2014, claimant filed an application for review with the 

Employment Appeals Board (EAB). 

 

EAB considered claimant’s written argument to the extent it was relevant and based on the record before 

the ALJ. 

 

EAB reviewed the entire hearing record.  On de novo review and pursuant to ORS 657.275(2), the 

hearing decision under review is adopted. 

 

DECISION:  Hearing Decision 14-UI-14489 is affirmed. 

 

Susan Rossiter and Tony Corcoran; 

D. E. Larson, not participating. 

 

DATE of Service:  April 30, 2014 

                                                 
1 Hearing Decision 14-UI-11559. 
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NOTE: You may appeal this decision by filing a Petition for Judicial Review with the Oregon Court of 

Appeals within 30 days of the date of service listed above. See ORS 657.282. For forms and 

information, you may write to the Oregon Court of Appeals, Records Section, 1163 State Street, Salem, 

Oregon 97310, or visit the website at http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OSCA/acs/records/Appellate 

CourtForms.page.   

Note: the above link may be broken due to unannounced changes to the Court of Appeals website, in 

which case you may contact the Appellate Records at (503) 986-5555.  


