EO: 200 BYE: 201008

## State of Oregon **Employment Appeals Board**

424 VQ 005.00

875 Union St. N.E. Salem, OR 97311

## **EMPLOYMENT APPEALS BOARD DECISION**

2014-EAB-0421

## Affirmed Overpayment and Penalties

**PROCEDURAL HISTORY:** On September 20, 2010, the Oregon Employment Department (the Department) served notice of an administrative decision concluding claimant voluntarily left work without good cause. That decision became final without a request for hearing having been filed. On September 1, 2011, the Department served notice of an administrative decision assessing a \$552 overpayment, \$82.80 in monetary penalties, and 5 penalty weeks based on the September 20, 2010 decision. On September 21, 2011, that decision became final without a request for hearing having been filed. On January 6, 2014, claimant filed an untimely request for hearing. On January 23, 2014, ALJ Kangas issued Hearing Decision 14-UI-08973, dismissing claimant's request for hearing as untimely, subject to claimant's "right to renew" the request by submitting a response to the "Appellant Questionnaire" attached to the hearing decision within 14 days of the date the decision was mailed. On January 27, 2014, OAH received claimant's response. On February 25, 2014 ALJ Kangas reviewed claimant's response and issued Hearing Decision 14-UI-11103, dismissing claimant's request for hearing. On March 17, 2014, claimant filed an application for review with the Employment Appeals Board (EAB).

Claimant failed to certify that he provided a copy of his argument to the other parties as required by OAR 471-041-0080(2)(a) (October 29, 2006). Therefore, we did not consider the argument when reaching this decision.

EAB reviewed the entire hearing record. On *de novo* review and pursuant to ORS 657.275(2), the hearing decision under review is **adopted**.

**DECISION:** Hearing Decision 14-UI-11103 is affirmed.

Tony Corcoran and D. E. Larson;

1

<sup>1</sup> Hearing Decision 14-UI-08973

Susan Rossiter, not participating.

DATE of Service: March 24, 2014

**NOTE:** You may appeal this decision by filing a Petition for Judicial Review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 30 days of the date of service listed above. *See* ORS 657.282. For forms and information, you may write to the Oregon Court of Appeals, Records Section, 1163 State Street, Salem, Oregon 97310, or visit the website at http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OSCA/acs/records/Appellate CourtForms.page.

Note: the above link may be broken due to unannounced changes to the Court of Appeals website, in which case you may contact the Appellate Records at (503) 986-5555.