EO: 200 BYE: 201245

State of Oregon **Employment Appeals Board** 875 Union St. N.E. Salem, OR 97311

114 VQ 005.00

EMPLOYMENT APPEALS BOARD DECISION 2014-EAB-0404

Affirmed Overpayment and Penalties

PROCEDURAL HISTORY: On June 6, 2013, the Oregon Employment Department (the Department) served notice of an administrative decision concluding claimant voluntarily left work without good cause (decision # 154525). On June 7, 2013, the Department served notice of an administrative decision assessing a \$1,484 overpayment, \$222.60 in monetary penalties, and 12 penalty weeks based on decision # 154525 (decision # 194048). On June 26, 2013, decision # 154525 became final without a request for hearing having been filed. On June 27, 2013, decision # 194048 became final without a request for hearing having been filed.

On January 17, 2014, claimant filed an untimely request for hearing on decision # 194048. On February 4, 2014, ALJ Kangas issued Hearing Decision 14-UI-09821, dismissing claimant's request for hearing as untimely, subject to claimant's "right to renew" the request by submitting a response to the "Appellant Questionnaire" attached to the hearing decision within 14 days of the date the decision was mailed.¹ On February 12, 2014, OAH received claimant's response. On March 3, 2014, ALJ Kangas reviewed claimant's response and issued Hearing Decision 14-UI-12084, dismissing claimant's request for hearing. On March 17, 2014, claimant filed an application for review with the Employment Appeals Board (EAB).

Claimant failed to certify that she provided a copy of her argument to the other parties as required by OAR 471-041-0080(2)(a) (October 29, 2006). Therefore, we did not consider the argument when reaching this decision.

EAB reviewed the entire hearing record. On *de novo* review and pursuant to ORS 657.275(2), the hearing decision under review is **adopted**.

DECISION: Hearing Decision 14-UI-12084 is affirmed.

¹ Hearing Decision 14-UI-09821

Tony Corcoran and D.E. Larson; Susan Rossiter, not participating.

DATE of Service: March 26, 2014

NOTE: You may appeal this decision by filing a Petition for Judicial Review with the Oregon Court of Appeals within 30 days of the date of service listed above. *See* ORS 657.282. For forms and information, you may write to the Oregon Court of Appeals, Records Section, 1163 State Street, Salem, Oregon 97310, or visit the website at http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OSCA/acs/records/Appellate CourtForms.page.

Note: the above link may be broken due to unannounced changes to the Court of Appeals website, in which case you may contact the Appellate Records at (503) 986-5555.